Earthquake hits DC and Virgina

Travel discussion for St. John
susan & herb

Earthquake hits DC and Virgina

Post by susan & herb »

i am in NJ and felt the earthquake in my office. It was felt as far as Long Island. They evacuated a lot of building in NYC.
Seems OK now. I work in a hospital.
greyhoundmom

Post by greyhoundmom »

I work on the 17th floor of a building in downtown Columbia, SC. Sitting in conference room on couch as it vibrated/shook for about 10 seconds. Very weird.
indianaizzy

Post by indianaizzy »

My daughter lives just outside of Boston and her house shook. Wow!
Connie

Post by Connie »

It was a rumbling in our home. Really really scarey!1
"Paradise...it's a state of mine"
PA Girl

Post by PA Girl »

I didn't feel it in Central PA but I suspect I was in the car, driving down the road when it hit. My husband called me, wanting to know where I was as he is in NY state right now, which is how I learned about it.

One of the guys in our office said it really shook the building (a concrete block structure) and rattled the wooden window blinds for a couple seconds.

My mom lives south of Harrisburg and she said it was VERY noticable at her office.
melmd

Post by melmd »

Shook my office building on Maryland's Eastern Shore. Now we have to wait for a hurricane to hit us :(
mahojim

Post by mahojim »

I'm sure that folks out west are used to this kind of thing, but it was pretty freakin' scary to me!
I was sitting on a barstool eating lunch when my chair started to shake. I thought someone was behind me playing around, then the whole building started to rumble; glasses & hanging lamps swinging. My Sweet Amy works in Center City,the phones weren't working, and my nerves were shot until I got a hold of her @ an hour later.
I hated it.
Forum family near the epicenter- CHECK IN!
Hope everyone is safe.
Totally freaky,-hope I never experience something like that again!
Smiles-, dammit!
MJ
stjchica

Post by stjchica »