Bringing a cooler?

Travel discussion for St. John
Jen East End

Bringing a cooler?

Post by Jen East End »

Several of you have mentioned bringing along a cooler of meats. We have a couple foam coolers that are disposable and meant for shipping frozen meats. However, they have no closure and we would have to use duct tape to secure them closed. Is this okay as checked luggage? Or do the airport people have to be able to look inside? We are going to have eight people on our trip and would love to bring along meats and cold cuts from home. Any suggestions? :?:
[/url]
waterguy

Post by waterguy »

The way they chuck luggage around I wouldn't trust a foam cooler I bought a polar bear cooler and use it to take drinks and lunch to the beach then pack it whit my booze for the trip back
Iluvstjohn

Post by Iluvstjohn »

we don't check our polar bear cooler...I bring it on as our carryon.....full of frozen meats and such for the kids....
Teresa_Rae

Post by Teresa_Rae »

I'm a meat scientist and over the years have shipped hundreds, or maybe even thousands shipments of meat in Styrofoam coolers, but which type are you talking about?

Some are made for shipping on planes but others are the type you can get in grocery stores which I would not recommend.

This type would be fine, they are used over and over again in the food industry:

I would NOT put this kind on a plane:
Let us live so that when we come to die even the undertaker will be sorry.
- Mark Twain
Jen East End

Post by Jen East End »

I have the first type you've shown. It was filled with steaks from Omaha Steaks when we received it. Thanks so much for taking the time to show me the pictures. How do you secure the lid of this type of cooler when you ship?
[/url]
waterguy

Post by waterguy »

It has to be tape you have to hope that TSA re tapes it good when they inspect it
mricco

coolers

Post by mricco »