Help for friends, Westin or Gallows Point?

Travel discussion for St. John
susan & herb

Help for friends, Westin or Gallows Point?

Post by susan & herb »

We have been to St John 5X but always stayed in villas. Friends of ours who usually go to Aruba or St Martin are thinking about going to St John this January. They are not villa people and are really not into driving on the island, husband is not comfortable. They do want to go to the beaches though.
Their travel agent gave them a brochure on the Westin and Gallows. I personally would not use a travel agent for this. Which would you recommend as I have no experience with hotels on the island. Also, are there ways for them to get around the island without a car? Do the hotels have jitneys or can they get a taxi to the beach etc. Really am clueless when I comes to this. We are always on our own when we go down and like it that way.
Appreciate any advise I can pass along to them
Gigi

Post by Gigi »

I have stayed at both and would definitely choose GP over the Westin. The Westin is too far out of town to walk and without a car, they will spend a fortune on taxis. I don't know if they have a free shuttle - they didn't when I stayed there 15 years ago. GP is right in Cruz Bay and is a great location. A lot of the units have been renovated and it has a small pool, hot tub, and great snorkeling area and is so convenient to walk to restaurants and the shops. They do have a shuttle to town but it is so close, there is no need to use it. They do pick you up at the ferry dock so you don't have to haul your luggage. There are also other options in Cruz Bay - Grande Bay (VRBO), Lavender Hill, Cruz Views - no need to use a travel agent!
mit43

Post by mit43 »

What Gigi said! Gallows would be my first choice!
Tim
Just Another Day in Paradise!!!
mbw1024

Post by mbw1024 »

we have stayed at Gallows twice and really like it. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it although it is not cheap.